Skip to content

Pattern Review – New Look 6022

2011 May 29
by elizabeth_admin

asldkjf

Pattern Description: Misses’ loose-fitting dresses six sizes in one (View A with longer puff sleeves with gathered center; View B with a cap sleeve; View C is the same as B but with a sash added; and View D is sleeveless with a contrast band at the hem), plus a bag pattern.

Pattern Sizing: Sizes 6-16

I think I made it a titch larger than a 12.  Some reviewers said that this pattern ran large.  I think the measurements given for the different sizes and the finished garment size are very true.  When I made a muslin in sz 10 based on those reviews, I could barely get the dress over my body and removed my underwear in the process.  Not a great moment in history, I assure you.  Then I cut another muslin in a sz 12 in the bodice and armscye, taking the side seams out to a sz 16.  I was swimming in the dress.  I basted the side seams back to a little over a sz 12 and found nirvana.  😉  To be honest, I don’t understand how there is such a big difference in size between the sz 10 and sz 12 when on the pattern pieces, the difference is negligible.  Strange!

And a dire warning on the sleeves, they are made for stick arm people.  I had to go up 2 sizes in the sleeve width (keeping the sleeve cap/head at a sz 12) and use a small seam allowance to get a good fit on the sleeves.  Make sure you muslin the sleeves to check for fit!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!  Except for the fact that I’m not thin like the model (or any of the other reviewers of this pattern gosh darn it!).  *sigh*

sdkf

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were very easy to follow.  Although they don’t mention any finishing of the seams, but if you are an experienced sew-er, you will know to do that.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

LIKES:

  • My favorite part was that it was loose fitting.  I am a little tired of constantly fitting close-fitting sheath dresses, especially with my weight fluctuating so much lately.  So a loose-fitting shift dress was just the ticket.  That being said though, there was still some fitting to do so I didn’t end up looking like I was wearing a sack.
  • I loved the simplicity of the pattern.

DISLIKES:

  • None really.

Fabric Used: Cotton (?) Print from Jomar’s from PR Weekend in Philly 2010.  Originally I thought this was a plain cotton print, but after pre-treating it, I think it might have some other fiber in it as the hand is almost an organza in stiffness.  I don’t think the other fiber content is polyester because it doesn’t feel like that.  Maybe it’s silk.  To be honest, I really don’t know.  Was this the best fabric to use for this dress?  Probably not as it’s not as drapey as I wanted it to be.  It takes a press like you wouldn’t believe, so I expect it wrinkles like the dickens too.  I think this dress needs a lot drape in the fabric; a drapey fabric would give the dress movement because of the loose fit.  Unfortunately, all the drapey fabrics I had on hand that were pre-treated were too sheer and I didn’t want to go to the trouble of adding a lining to this dress.

sdlkfj

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • As mentioned above, I fiddled with the side seams to get the loose-fitting look of the pattern envelope.  I added shaping to the side seams to eliminate some of the rectangular shape and give the dress some curves.
  • Also, I decided to sew up the back all the way to the top.  I didn’t want to fool with adding a button or having that kind of closure in the back.  The dress is still easy to get on and off, so no worries on that account.  I might add it back in on the next version.

sldkfj

  • Because I increased the width of the sleeves to accommodate my non-stick-like arms, I had excess fabric to ease into the armscye.  Since the sleeve was already pleated (four for each sleeve), I just added two more pleats to each sleeve on either side of the pattern’s original pleats.  It doesn’t really add any extra poofiness and it looks in keeping with the original design.  I don’t think anyone would notice this difference, even an experienced sew-er.

 

extra pleats

sdlkfj

  • I added lace hem tape to finish my hem.  I think it’s really pretty.  🙂

sdlkfj

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will definitely sew this again!  I love this dress, especially after I have taken the time and two muslins to fit it to my shape.  I am thinking of using a cream and orange floral silk twill in my stash bought from FabricMart last year.  If it’s not sheer, I am definitely going to use that.  I think the large scale print would look fabulous in this simple dress which will showcase it to perfection.

I would definitely recommend this to any level of sewist.  It’s a great dress, perfect to show off a special fabric.  The simple style can be dressed up or down.  Just be careful to be honest about your measurements and don’t fantasy cut a smaller size to appease your ego.  You will be sorry when your underwear comes off as you wiggle a too small dress on.  Trust me!

Conclusion: Great dress!  Perfect for the summer.

alsdkjf

Ok, I wore my dress all day today.  My sister’s family and we (and a close family friend) had our Memorial Day “picnic” today instead of tomorrow.  I found the dress very comfortable to wear, but everyone agreed the cotton print was too casual for the office.  I have to admit I am a little disappointed by this.  My friend Lisa thought the elastic on the back made the dress too casual for work wear.  Hmmm…  I don’t know how I could change that… Maybe change the elastic to two fisheye darts or a box pleat?  Thoughts anyone?

Of course, my sister was kind enough to take pictures with her super duper camera.  Here’s how the dress looks like on the body.  I was right, it does wrinkle; but I’m ok with that.

sldkfj

Happy sewing everyone!

38 Responses leave one →
  1. May 29, 2011

    I love the dress! It isn’t form fitting yet it isn’t a muumuu either.I find it to be a fine line with the pattern companies! Looks great on you. Perfect for the warm weather. I think, you are going to be very happy to have it in your closet!

  2. May 29, 2011

    You have inspired me yet again.

  3. May 29, 2011

    Simple, but so very pretty.

  4. May 29, 2011

    What a pretty fabric, and I think you got the fit just right! I wonder would it be more work-appropriate under a light cardigan? (I really have no clue about these things, though…)

  5. May 30, 2011

    From the pictures of the dress on the hanger i was a bit sceptical about how the dress would look on, but it looks fantastic! very flattering.

  6. May 30, 2011

    You are one determined lady, you stick to it until you get it worked out. That is so cute and comfty. Love the print too.

  7. May 30, 2011

    You look great in that dress, and the dress looks much better on you than on the pattern envelope photo. Love the fabric too.

    Hmm yes, darts would make it more corporate, but might take away from the comfortableness of the style. A box pleat might work?

  8. May 30, 2011

    Love this! It looks cool and stylish. I’m going to have to give this one a try! ~ Peggy http://peggyscloset.blogspot.com/

  9. May 30, 2011

    You could cover the elastic with a half belt. Like this one: http://www.tweed-jacket.com/GALLERY%20PAGE/Womens%20Tweed%20Jacket%202/Womens%20Tweed%20Jacket%20Gallery%204%2008/thumbnails/brown%20herringbone%20half%20belt_jpg.jpg

    You could use silk or satin to dress it up. 😀 LOL Don’t pay any attention, I’m just rambling here.

  10. May 30, 2011

    Your dress looks really great on, I think the shaping you added is just right, it looks much better than the pattern envelope now.

  11. May 30, 2011

    I also think you got the fit just right . It is loose enough but your figure is not swamped .

  12. May 30, 2011

    Hurray! You finally finished this dress. It looks really cute, a great summer pattern to make again and again with fun prints.

  13. May 30, 2011

    I just came across your blog through some link-hopping for dress ideas, and I’m loving your sewing so far!

    That dress is lovely – the elastic detailing on the back is really sweet, and I’m not sure how you’d lose it. Maybe in a more ‘formal’ fabric it would be fine for the office (it would have been at my last workplace). I’d love to make this dress, but it’ll have to wait till next year when I’m not nursing – I hate having to arrange my wardrobe around easy baby access!

  14. May 30, 2011

    Wow, Elizabeth, this dress is really fabulous! You have achieved the perfect shaping – definitely not sack-like, but skimming nicely and looking shapely. This is going to be a perfect dress for those New York steamy summer days – comfortable, cool and fresh looking! The fabric is beautiful, I love the print.

  15. May 30, 2011

    That cotton is SO pretty and you look beautiful wearing it. Yes, we all need a slightly more relaxed outfit every now and then. The details look gorgeous – definitely not a sack.

  16. May 30, 2011

    Gorgeous!
    I agree that with a cardigan or a jacket over it you could wear it to the office, it would look pretty professional that way.

  17. Rosie permalink
    May 30, 2011

    Perfect fit on you Elizabeth! I love the fabric – just right for the current weather. You look great!

  18. May 30, 2011

    I knew I recognized that print! I was the last one on the totem pole for that fabric. It’s darling and perfect look for summer.

  19. May 30, 2011

    This is a pattern that I would never have looked at! It looks like a sack on the pattern envelope, but fabulous on you. Nice work!!

  20. May 30, 2011

    Hey looks really fabulous… I thought it looked nice on the hanger but boy it looks really great on! That’s a credit to your persistence!
    I don’t know what work you do, but I think with a nice belt and a short sleeve jacket it would look very nice.

  21. May 30, 2011

    The dress is bee-oo-tee-ful! I love it! Well worth the time you put in to get the perfect fit. I wonder if fitting a shift dress isn’t just as tricky as a sheath: it’s hard to get something that skims the body just so.

    I think it looks fine for work but I have a very casual workplace. I agree about the cardigan. Or what about with a little jacket thrown over it?

  22. May 30, 2011

    Great job Elizabeth–I think it looks great and don’t see the wrinkles in the pix. I guess it depends what kind of office you work in, but like others said you could put a little cardigan over it. Otherwise it’s a great “come home from the office and throw on something comfy” dress. 🙂

  23. May 30, 2011

    I love that dress on you, so much cuter than the pattern envelope suggests. Another example of looking at line drawings instead of photos!

    I don’t know what the dress code at your job is, but with a white pique blazer, work shoes and a chunky necklace, you’re right in style.

  24. May 30, 2011

    It turned out great!! I like that you gave it some shape so it doesn’t just hang. Loose fitting without being sacklike – difficult to achieve, but you did it!

  25. Carolyn permalink
    May 30, 2011

    Elizabeth – I think a cardigan and some heels will make it fine for work. You definitely need to make this again…and quickly. Can you imagine what it would be like in the morning to wake up and have 4 or 5 of these hanging in the closet? Easy peasy dressing. For work!

  26. May 30, 2011

    I’ll admit that I thought this dress looked like a shapeless sack on the model and on the hanger. But it looks great on you! This isn’t a pattern I would normally reach for, but I’m adding it to the shopping list after seeing yours. Thanks for the inspiration.

  27. May 30, 2011

    The dress looks great on you and find it work appropriate with cute high heel sandals. I know it would be appropriate for my office, especially with the warm weather upon us.

  28. May 30, 2011

    That is a great casual summer dress – perfect for those days when anything fitted is just too hot! You got the fit just right – it’s loose enough but not blousy. I think I might need one!

  29. Elena permalink
    May 30, 2011

    This looks great on you! This is one of those patterns that I’d just assume from the envelope would end up looking like a shapeless sack. I’m glad you stuck with it and showed us what can be done. Truly inspiring!

  30. SusieR permalink*
    May 31, 2011

    I agree – I think a belt will make all the difference in the casual look of this dress, so you’ll be able to wear it to work. Wear this dress the next time you’re out shopping and try on a bunch of different belts to see if you can achieve a more business look. And take a photo!!!

  31. May 31, 2011

    I think you could variate lots with this dress and that way make it more casual or more work-appropriate. What happens when you add a cardigan, a belt or a jacket? Some high heels and I can imagine you look great for many workspaces.

    The fabric is lovely and the fit looks marvelous on you. Great dress!

  32. May 31, 2011

    very very pretty. I made a similar pattern from new look a few years back and it was really big at the waist – then I had baby and now it’s perfect! I was intrigued when you mentioned about other reviewers saying it ran large – I couldn’t find any reviews on pattern review at all – so now I’m really curious.

    You look lovely in it – I love the back shaping especially – it’s interesting as well as a clever solution.

  33. June 2, 2011

    I am still jealous that you got that fabric in Philly! It looks gorgeous on you, very flattering. I could definitely wear that in my office, but we are super cas. I think with a gray jacket over it could totally work, but you know your office better than I.

  34. Sara permalink
    March 6, 2014

    Am I the only one who likes how it looks on the envelope as well? I loved this dress when I saw the pattern (just the envelope, not made up) on another blog. I went off to investigate and found your dress. I have to say your version is absolutely lovely – on the strength of it I went and purchased the pattern today (lucky me as all New look patterns were half price). You have made a really gorgeous dress, I only hope my own turns out nearly so lovely. I haven’t sewn clothes in a very long time but I used to be pretty competent so fingers crossed it works out well.

  35. Chrissiet permalink
    January 20, 2016

    I got this as a free pattern and I’ve been on a couple of pattern fitting courses. They tend to be focused on being very fitted with darts everywhere and I just want to attempt my new found skills with something a bit simpler as well. Like one of the people who commented I thought it was nice on the photo where it was hanging up but the one where you were wearing it looks beautiful. Exactly what I would love to emulate. You definitely made my mind up for me . Here’s hoping ……

Trackbacks and Pingbacks

  1. Lone dissenter and other thoughts | SEWN
  2. Strategery sewing | SEWN
  3. spottedroo :: A new subject

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

  • Follow SEWN...
  • My Weapons of Mass Construction

    Singer Featherweight 221 (1938)
    Baby Lock Imagine
    Brother 2340CV
    Husqvarna Viking Emerald 183
    RIP: Brother 1034D
  • Translation


  • I’m a proud member of




  • I support

    Project 95
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • The Trench Sew Along